A Final Touch with Julie… Thank You my Best Teacher!

Right here, I am going to express what I have learned from the beginning of this course until now. It is fabulous that I have ever had a teacher like you Julie 😀

This is my second master degree but in a different field of study (engineering and education). I spent my first master in the Republic of China which has Chinese (Mandarin) as the first language, and English becomes the second language just like in Finland, even in Indonesia, English as a foreign language. Currently, I admit that my English is still very bad, in particular, my academic writing. In the beginning of this course, I was overcoming the difficulties in understanding some terminologies coming from educational articles. As a consequence, I spent too much time to read educational articles, especially, in the philosophical education discipline. As my English proficiency achievement, basically I don’t have any problem in reading comprehension part, however, my problem then comes from my writing ability. Previously, I don’t really pay attention on how to use English expression in writing, particularly academic writing. And now I realize that English expression is compulsory to practice consistently. Up to now, I start being aware of my English improvement. Recently, my previous professor from Taiwan is constantly asking me to revise my own publication due to reviewers’ recommendation. I am surprised that I could recognize my writing weaknesses, I found some grammatical errors from previous writings easily, likewise, I could identify the wrong word choices in the texts written. I would also thank this course that helped me so much.

Overall, I do improve. However, I must be able to remind myself that I should pay more attention to my bad English. Just because I didn’t really care for it. I am an easy going person, as I knew that my partners could understand what I meant, meaning that my English was acceptable. Haha….

Leave a comment